Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In the modern world with higher accessibility to a varied range of education, people have different perspectives toward pursuing them. While some individuals believe university students should focus mainly on their core major, others are more positive toward getting varied disciplines and improving in different aspects. I advocate the second group's idea for the following reasons that are mentioned in this essay. On the one hand, to some individuals due to the packed curriculum of programs, it seems almost impossible to find any spare time to spend on other subjects. For instance, medical students must fully focus on broadening their knowledge of health sciences because of the expectation of society from doctors to dominate on disease-specific information, and they may not be respected any further for their personal artistic talents. Hence, it is assumed that students must fully commit to their personal discipline to predominate specifically only their own career and do not spend time and energy on irrelevant courses. On the other hand, the second group are in the belief of multitasking. Throughout their normal lives, multiple situations will be faced so this idea supports them to foster their talents in extracurricular subjects. For example, some must-learned skills such as computer sciences and language sciences are better to be improved despite the heavy course hours of core majors. To illustrate better, a tourism and hospitality student with computer skills would definitely find more information online and make better databases with these knowledges. In conclusion, in spite of some individuals who believe students should not distract themselves from their main majors, I reiterate that the second approach of fostering multiple skills will probably ensure a more sustainable future, together with multidisciplinary connections.