International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

Although the tourism industry has brought lots of profits for many countries around the world, we should not deny its negative effect on local residents and nature. In my opinion, the drawbacks of tourism outweigh its benefits due to the impact of tourism on the depletion of natural resources through overconsumption as well as pollution, and waste problems. First of all, tourism puts enormous stress on local natural resources through over consumption, often noticeable in places where resources are already scarce. For instance, water consumption during summertime in a hot area like Huwai, has caused local residents to have hours without water. Similarly, tourism has caused a 20 per cent increase in the public transport system for instance in Vancouver, causing Vancouverites to have a hard time to get to work, especially during rush hours. Therefore, tourists can increase the use of resources and public services making problems for local residents. Another negative impact of tourism is by increasing air and soil pollution. Every year, millions of tourists travel around the world using commercial planes or cars as the main means of transport. This has resulted in a substantial increase in the number of global greenhouse emissions that can contribute to the overall global warming of our planet earth. At the same time, they produce tons of wastes that is directly dumped into the environment putting natural habitat endanger. For,instance the number of plastic wastes on Miami beach in 2018 reported killing thousands of dolphins in that area. As can be seen, visitors can, directly and indirectly, affect our planet. In conclusion, some might argue with me saying that tourists bring lots of financial profits to countries and make lots of job opportunities for local residents. My view is that the tourism industry has ruined natural habitat and put the majority of people under pressure by emptying our irreversible resources and causing pollution that has impacted both wildlife and people.