Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There is a common belief among the general public that there is advised to be specific punishments for certain kind of crime committed; whereas, some state that the occasion and motivation of an illegal action should always be taken into consideration when it comes to punishment. From my perspective, these two scenarios have their own benefits which contribute greatly to the safety of the community as well as the power of the justice system. Fixed punishment is beneficial in multiple ways. Firstly, a set punishment for a categorized crime can set a strict example to other citizens, warn them against conducting illicit operations. Therefore, the crime rate is reduced which can give peace and security to the neighbourhood and the government will be able to take control of the nation effortlessly. On the other hand, many’s the time, a crime is accidentally committed due to unwanted reasons such as self-defence. It is undeniable that every culprit should be punished to pay for the wrongdoings they have performed, however, there are circumstances that a man has to conduct peril action to protect his human right from bigger threats. For example, in 2009, a teacher in the UK killed a terrorist in order to protect her students and colleagues. Therefore, actions in those cases should be regarded as an exception and deserved lighter punishment rather than the death penalty. Punishments are set not only to provide security and order to a neighbourhood but also to protect good people. Therefore, stable punishment will be served as a good tool for the legal system to secure its citizens, however, the circumstance of an individual crime and the motivation of the man who commits is suggested to be taken into account as well.