Nowadays people are using more consumer goods like refrigerators or washing machines. Does this have more advantages or disadvantages?

It has been observed that more and more people are utilizing daily household goods as compared to previous times. This situation has both advantages and disadvantages. However, the merits are more than its demerits. On the downside, the introduction of various life goods such as microwave, washing machines and so on has a few disadvantages. The major disadvantage is that it leads to a sedentary lifestyle of the people, which in turn adversely affecting their physical health. It is generally seen that, in this age of automation, people often hesitate to perform manual work in the presence of machines. This situation has negative consequences in terms of maintaining health standards as they rarely get a chance to burn calories in the absence of physical work. For example, in the past, people used to perform various household works by hands such as washing dishes and clothes, owing to which, they remained physically fit. However, in the contemporary world, these tasks are generally performed by automatic machines which do not give any chance to people for performing any exercise, thereby resulting in their poor health. On the positive sides, developing technology has innumerable benefits for the users The prominent advantage is that the consumer goods save plenty of time for them. It is primarily due to the fact that machines perform the tasks without taking any breaks and at a constant rate that is far higher than humans. Thus, the time taken to finish any task has reduced dramatically with the use of these life goods. For example, up to date microwave is equipped with all kind of facilities such as an oven, conventional heat and so on which not only cook the food items in very less time, but also perform these task in bare minimum efforts. Yet another advantage of emerging technologies to help people in their domestic work is that it helps the individuals to enhance the multitasking of the work. In other words, a number of activities can be done simultaneously because one does not require himself to fully devote any task. For example, washing clothes, cooking food on microwave and washing dishes can be performed all together as machines only require an initial activity of starting it, whereas halting is automatically done by the internal programming after completing the work. This saves a great deal of time for those, who have limited time to complete house chores. To conclude, I believe advantages of technologies has outweighed its demerits because it saves a lot of time for the individuals which even encourage to spare some time for performing workout to tackle its major disadvantage of making people lazy.