It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Taking risks is an integral step in the path leading to success, not only in professional life, but also one’s personal life. This essay discusses positive and negative aspects of the same, however I strongly concur with the recommendation that taking chances is important because they open new opportunities. Some people have an opinion that one should be happy with what they have, and not put their current possessions at stake. This is true because taking risk carefully while assessing all possibilities is necessary, if not done in a correct manner it might lead to a humongous loss. Staying put and not being tempted by the chances presented to you is a safer option as even if there is no gain, there is no potential no loss either. For instance, a man who gets his salary decides to invest the money in the stock market. Investment always carries a certain amount of risk and he might end up losing all his money. However, on the contrary, taking chances might lead to greater opportunities and success. The man in the above example could have doubled his money if he invested it wisely. Moreover, taking chances is not limited to financial aspects, but it is also necessary in our personal lives. For example, my parents were friends long before their marriage, but neither had the courage to express the love they had for each other, they did not want to risk losing the friendship. But one day my father decided to gather all his courage and confessed his feelings to my mother, and now they have been happily married for 27 years. Hence, taking chances can help you live the life that you have dreamt of. In conclusion, taking risks has some disadvantages as it can lead to losses, it also possesses a potential of growth and can present new opportunities. Therefore, in my opinion the pros outweigh the cons.