Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify these problems and suggest ways through which governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Over the past few decades, people from rural areas have started to migrate to cities, mainly for employment. As the rate of urbanization is increased at an alarming rate, so it has given birth to a host of problems. This essay will discuss the problems caused by overcrowding and suggest possible ways to address them. There are two main problems related to overcrowding. Traffic congestion is one of the biggest problem faced by the residents of metropolitan cities. People find it difficult to reach their destinations on time and perhaps get late. It was found in a survey that cities like New York and Hong Kong have the busiest roads because they are densely populated; the rate of population in these areas are increasing every year by 15%. Moreover, the cost to live in urban areas have also increased because of the overcrowding of people. Residents of such places cannot afford to rent or own their own apartment or house due to price hike. Therefore, people have to share rooms with others and cannot find privacy. Nevertheless, there are ways to overcome the problems caused by overpopulation. Firstly, the government can improve transportation modes by introducing new ones. In London, for example, underground train systems are safe and reliable; these trains are always punctual and hence thoroughly helps reduce road congestion. Also, higher authorities can lower the price of the property and encourage builders to create more housing areas. To cite an example, In Karachi, the rate of population has surged drastically and people are in need of residential areas, hence the government established new housing schemes in the outskirts of the city to easily accommodate people. Such measures taken by the government can help to curtail the problems caused by overpopulation. To conclude, the rate of urbanization is increasing rapidly and has created several problems. Traffic congestion and lack of accommodation are the main problems of overcrowding. Therefore, the government must take the above-mentioned measures to deal with them.