The amount of drinkable water for people is decreasing. Why is this? What can be done?

Nowadays, the quantity of drinking water is becoming less and less. There are two causes, overpopulation and climate change. Possible solution would be family management and governments funds projects to protect the environment. One significant reason of the reduction in the resource of drinkable water is that the number of people is profoundly increasing worldwide, therefore a high number of people are consuming water for drinking. This issue is a concern for many as the number of people is continue to rise and it is predicted by 2030 to increase by ten billion. If the population number increases by one billion every year, there will definitely be depletion in the amount of drinking water. To tackle this issue, people should be responsible and manage the number of children they want to have in order to control the issue of overpopulation. By doing this, it may, in the long run, create a balance between people ’s needs and natural resources such as water. Another cause to be considered is that climate change has impacted on weather conditions. Drought, as an example, has become more often to occur than ever was. To illustrate this point, scientists at Oxford University revealed that due to the rise in global warming, disasters such as flooding and drought are reported to become frequent during the upcoming decades, resulting in shortage of clean drinking water. This problem can be mitigated by governments fund projects that aim to protect the environment. If governments globally run this scheme, it will undoubtedly be the first step to reserving natural resources. In conclusion, the amount of water that people demands to drink is decreasing due to the increase in the number of mankind and the rise in global temperature. Individuals can control the number of babies they have and governments sponsor programmes that protect the environment.