Some people think that it is a waste of money for countries to host big sporting events like the world cup, and that the money would be better spent on other things. However, others think that hosting large sporting events has a clear, positive impact on a country. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

People hold contradictory opinions regarding governmental funding for holding sports events. Critics decry it as an inefficient allocation, and state that other essential infrastructures deserve this monetary aid, however, others think in contrast. I will discourse on either side in this essay, and state my opinion. Opponents of international sports state that it is a wastage of resources, particularly for developing countries. Because poverty alleviation and other substructures should be the utmost priorities for any authority. Such important issues are likely to be dilapidated if a huge sum of money is disbursed on sporting events, such as cricket or the football world cup. By eliminating poverty, nations grow as a whole and more mouths can be fed than before, unlike when the government prefers to spend money on sports. Furthermore, a mass gathering of people at sports ground can further cause problems for the state to tackle as the crowd can be vulnerable to safety threats, and providing security to the audience can be exorbitant too. Hence, funding on big sports events is less essential than alleviating poverty which may have longer-lasting impacts. Nevertheless, others believe hosting Olympic games between different nations relaxes political tension and builds rapport among diverse ethnic groups. Folks from around the world gather for a shared viewing experience and to root for their teams. For example, in the PSL Cricket tournament in Pakistan, people from around the country were on the same page irrespective of their cultural background. Besides, the government generated hefty revenue by selling sports match tickets to the audience, which is another productive impact of hosting such events. To illustrate this, various countries struggle to take the honour of congregating cricket world cups in their homeland to support local markets to merchandise their products during these matches, such as hotels are fully booked on match days. Therefore, it can be said that conducting such sports is worth spending financial resources on them. To conclude, although other crucial issues require governments' attention and funding, yet I believe the significance of sports tournaments can not be neglected. It is irrefutable that people from around the globe tend to partake in sporting events and develop harmony with each other. Besides that, governments further generate capital in turn.