Some believe that more action should be taken to prevent crime, while others feel that crime is being tackled effectively now. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that criminal activities have geared exceedingly globally. However, while some believe that these offences are handled productively than before, I would agree with those who argue that strict actions are required still to control crimes. To commence with, it is important to consider the involvement of numerous technological advances in curtailing the crime rate. This is because the observation and detection of the crime under CCTV surveillance have actively enhanced the power of police to catch the criminal.To cite an example, if a thief, who enters a money bank with an intention to conduct a robbery might get noticed in the presence of cameras, leading him towards imprisonment directly. Furthermore, in many facilities nowadays, there are sirens and burglar alarm systems are installed for safety purpose to prevent crime. Thus, these illegal acts are tackled in a more effective manner today than earlier. Nevertheless,despite many existing methods to control misconduct, I believe that the enforcement of strict punishment is the only way to mitigate major crimes, such as murder or acid attacks. The reason for this is an unwitnessed or unproved case is considered a bailable offence which, in turn, strengthens the will power of a criminal to repeat it in the future. The argument goes that, if the victims of such misdeeds are allowed to take on spot actions in self-defence than this could reduce the ratio of crimes. A woman, for instance,who is an acid attack survivor, if considered as the prime witness and the judge announces the capital punishment to that offender on her verdicts could prevent myriads of such criminal deeds by spreading this message by generating fear amongst them. In conclusion, although these crimes are controlled up to an extent by laws, I feel that severe punishments without delaying should be imposed on the basis of victims confession to prevent most of the criminality.