Nowadays, a lot of people are able to do their work from home. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

With the recent covid-19 pandemic a new way of working has been gaining the spotlight. Some people have been enjoying working remotely. On the other hand, some cannot stand staying at home any longer and wish they could return physically to the office. This essay will explore both the advantages and disadvantages that come from online distance working. To begin with, let us explore the positive side of long-distance working. Firstly, the non-productive time that was previously wasted with transportation to the offices has been completely reduced. Since the population can work from their own homes, the need to commute was eliminated. Moreover, the additional time gained from this can be used much more productively now. Secondly, another benefit is that people can work not only from their homes but from anywhere. Since all that is needed is a stable internet connection, those that want or need to travel can certainly do so without having to leave their jobs. As an example, imagine someone that needed to move away from their family to be able to be physically present at their company's headquarters. This person can now easily move back home again. On the other hand, there can be some downsides to this topic as well. To start with, working remotely can present several distractions which lower overall productivity. Most people are staying at home with their children, spouses, and pets, which can interrupt work from time to time. To illustrate this, imagine having to deal with situations such as a child turning on the television while his father is working, or the dog starting to bark. In addition to distractions, a second negative aspect can be the lack of social interaction. People that have worked in offices know that it is a social environment, where one can interact with several different colleagues daily. Recent studies have shown that reducing social interaction for long periods can provoke harmful psychological damage and cause symptoms such as depression and anxiety. To conclude, the pandemic has brought a surge in the need for remote working, and with it came the debate of whether it is good or bad. While it has some positives as was discussed in this essay, there are certainly negative aspects that should be closely monitored. Governments and companies should have psychologists study this phenomenon so that society can better mitigate the side-effects that can arise from this issue.