People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

It has been statistically proven that nowadays people sleep much less than our ancestors in the past. In this essay, I will explore what negative effects are caused by this trend. I will also provide possible solutions to the issue. Firstly, it is obvious that night rest deprivation leads to various health issues, such as fatigue, stress, hormonal imbalance, depression are the issues caused by the lack of rest. It has been proven that a person can survive longer without food than without sleep. Furthermore, one can compromise his own mental state by increasing the awake time to critical levels. A solid solution to this problem could be a promotion of special mobile applications which track one’s awake period. For example, these apps can warn when to go to bed, if someone is staying up too late. In addition, the utility keeps the records and can compile the analysis for the user. Secondly, another problem of the trend is that individual deprived of quality bedtime is a hazard to society. For instance, one of the main reasons for road accidents appears to be a driver falling asleep while behind the wheel. Some smart engineers have come up with a solution, such as the “musical” roads. This kind of roads is equipped with special bumps on each side. As soon as vehicles move off the course, the drivers feel intensive bumps and are immediately woken up. In conclusion, it is hard to argue that rest deprivation causes multiple health conditions, as well as hazards while travelling. These problems may be tackled by better sleep management apps usage and advanced roads construction for long-distance routes.