In the future, more people will choose to go on holiday in their own country and not travel abroad on holiday. Do you agree or disagree?

People were able to travel faster and farther through the decades as technology allowed. While most of the countries became accessible destinations for everyone, some people believe that this movement had reversed and they will prefer to spend their holidays in their own country, and I tend to agree with them. Firstly, it is more affordable to travel close to home because there is no need to exchange money or pay for long travels. Visiting nearer cities and states also offers the comfort of speaking in a native language and, therefore, having more autonomy than abroad. For example, a traveller can rent a car at a low cost and get the necessary information from locals without the insecurity of possible issues with translation. Secondly, it has become widely common that individuals rediscover an interest in their own culture and history, being more open-minded about unknown places than looking for the same classical destinations, such as Paris or New York. Nevertheless, as globalization shortened distances, some individuals often find themselves astonished by the possibility of reaching somewhere new and unexplored. However, the last year brought a pivotal obstacle to international travel. The outbreak of COVID-19 exposed the failure of controlling the disease spread with free circulation and border crossing. Moreover, it might be probable that the latter intense flow of visitors will decrease even after mass vaccination, as leaders around the world may maintain restrictions in order to keep their citizens safe. To sum up, although there are reasons for the population choose to spend their holidays in their own country, there might be also restrictions that make it be an obligation as weel.