Some parents believe that learning mathematics is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used in later life. Discuss both sides.

Learning mathematics has a variety of different opinions around the world. Some believe that it is no longer needed for students to learn, however, others disagree, claiming that it should stay as one of the foundational subjects. Mathematics itself is one of the oldest fields of study, it has been passed through generations, and to this day we still discover more complex or simple formulas. Nevertheless, in the present day, some individuals believe that it is no longer needed and is more of an outdated subject. To explain further, currently, the earth is bombarded with new technology and every day, there is something fresh, that’s why the subject can be solved by just using a few clicks on certain applications. Even without using those programs, there are even websites that answer the asked question in a matter of seconds. Therefore learning the study in more of a traditional way or learning it at all could throw off some parents in this era of technology. On the contrary, many still trust and thrive on the study, believing that it is needed and will still be needed in the future. For example, students learn mathematics from primary grade, some even learn it in kindergarten, and some may ask why it is learned from such an early age. The answer to that question is that the brain develops usually at a young age, and taking advantage of that advancement is necessary. Calculations are always needed in everyday life, such as doing taxes, getting measurements and even getting groceries. The reason for that is that the world without math is very grey, it is used for almost everything. To sump up, there are many fields of study that require you to have mathematical knowledge at a basic level, some even at an advanced level. These jobs include: Engineering, statistics, economics, physics and more. Therefore the study of maths is very much needed and is still going to be used in the future and nothing is going to change that fact.