Some people believe that celebrating personal events is a waste of money. Others feel that these celebrations play an important role in the lives of individuals and in society as a whole. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Family functions are celebrated across the globe from last many years. However, some are of the view that these occasions are squandering of money. While others feel that family celebrations play a vital role in the lives of individuals. I agree that celebrations bring people close to each other and also creates a strong sense of passing their traditional values to the next generation. To start with, few are of the view that those celebrating personal events are a complete waste of money because it is difficult to earn and save money. In other words, the monies can be utilized at a later stage to build a corpus for retirement or spend on any luxury items that their family desires. Moreover, people tend to forget the event over a period of time. Thus, money should be spent wisely and effectively to achieve their desires rather than hosting big personal events. On the other hand, there are the majority of the people believe that family events like birthdays or marriage bring people close to each other and also help to inculcate their values in the new generation. If these events are hosted there is an opportunity to meet relatives that are not in touch or stay far away. Also, the values that the new generation get to learn and see is important. I strongly agree with this view as it helps to add cultural values and builds a close-knit relation with the family members. In conclusion, although some may say that saving money is a necessity, celebrations help to meet and greet new people and also help to pass the cultural values. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the former viewpoint.