The money spent by governments on space programmes would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that governments allocate too many economic resources to space programs which could be more beneficial if used in vital public sectors such as health and education. while I believe education and health are very important, I completely disagree with cutting down space programs budget in order to be spent on schools and hospitals. One on hand, it is true that the governments should spend more money on education and health. The reason is that not enough people are getting proper education and medical services are too expensive for the majority of people. The quality of these vital public services could be increased by allocating more annual budget to these sectors. For instance, at the beginning of the COVID pandemic governments spent a lot of money on research institutes to develop a vaccine. The countries that succeeded to build a vaccine have much lower death rates now. On the other hand, the budget of the space program mostly goes into funding various new research programs to develop new technologies. Many of the technologies that we use today have been developed during the cold war when the united states and Russia spend a lot of money on their space missions. GPS, for example, was originally build to compute the position of satellites in space. I believe governments should continue to fund space projects because not only it will result in new technologies but also will enable new possibilities and capabilities for humans in the future. In conclusion, space programs are crucial for the future of humans and the governments should spend as much money as it is necessary for these programs.