Fossil fuel, such as coal, oil and natural gas, is extensively used in many countries which cause harms to the environment. The use of alternative sources of energy, including wind and solar power, however, is being encouraged in many countries. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent times there has been a surge in the use of fossil fuels such as coal and natural gas creating a detrimental effect on the environment. However, eco-friendly and renewable methods of energy are being appreciated across various nations to reduce the impact on the ecosystem. I completely consider this as a positive trend that will save future generations from further contaminating the environment. To begin with, various nations have pledged to reduce the number of carbon footprints released into the atmosphere by the use of renewable sources. Installations such as windmills have created an enormous impact in reducing pollution levels in the atmosphere and are regarded as one of the safest practices of generating electricity. By this we can safely assume that cleaner energy is used to generate electricity without causing deleterious consequences on the environment. To illustrate, in recent years a consortium of nations have taken preliminary measures to reduce carbon emissions by the year 2030 replacing fossil fuels with renewable sources of energy. Hence, by vowing so we create a sustainable and cleaner environment to live in and are also more affordable to the common public. Additionally, one of the major advantages of using sources of renewable practices is cheaper and safest to maintain a balance in the habitat. Governments have been amending and implementing laws on the citizens to utilize renewable energies as they are cheaper and safest modes to create a sustainable environment. To illustrate, in parts of Australia government has provided incentives for households making use of solar panels for energy generation in the forms of rebates of the electricity bills and equipment. Hence, this method has become the most common approach for many nations in developing such laws and encourages people to utilize the boon. In conclusion, although extensive damage has already been done to the planet by uncapped levels of fossil fuel usage it is in the hands of common people and governments to encourage the use of renewable methods of energy to create a sustainable habitat for future generations to evolve.