Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of children’s time. They think that their children should read only serious educational books. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

With increased competition, children ’s interest in reading has dramatically reduced. Parents want their children to only read course related books as they will help improve their grades. While some agree that children should read books according to their interests. In my view, both entertainment and educational books are important to increase a child’s knowledge regarding various aspects of life. Many studies show that toddlers and school children who read according to their interests have a larger vocabulary and wider knowledge. Reading books of different genres helps children get to know their field of interests. In fact, painting and coloring books can develop a child’s interest in arts and other creative fields. When a child reads novels, short stories or fiction, it helps them to enhance their creative skills and imagination power. Hence, children will get valuable life lessons if they read regularly as they will not be restricted with limited knowledge related to the syllabus. From the opposing point of view, with growing competition worldwide, parents want the best for their child. So they encourage children to read educational books which is beneficial for their career advancement. From the parent’s point of view, books related to the curriculum helps children fetch a higher score thereby securing their future. In a nutshell, reading enhances a child’s memory and helps them to improve their concentration level and develop the overall personality. Instead of pressurizing their offspring to read curriculum books, parents should motivate children to read and engage in entertainment books thus keeping a balance.