Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree with these views? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since the advent of print media, people are using this media to promote their products that are released in the market. It had a very simple motive: to showcase the product to the world of consumers. Nowadays, the product manufacturers are using the advertisement not only for promoting their product but for beating the competition, for which they show unrealistic claims that are not proven yet to the consumers. Therefore, I totally agree with the notion that higher sales of popular consumer goods are the result of the advertisement. Firstly, the use of stardom of various superstars, who are faces in the respective region, to sell certain products is a very common practice nowadays. Take, for instance, a cricketer sis selling iron TMT bars by saying that the TMT bar is one of the factors of his success. However, this strategy contributes significantly to the profits of the manufacturing company. Although these products become popular and top-seller, the advertisement of the product does not show how people can use the product for the betterment of their life, thus unable to cater for the real needs of the society in which they are sold. Secondly, with the use of advanced technologies, advertisers are able to show people unrealistic stunts and things that affect the perception of the users. For example, the use of fairness cream claims a person can achieve a 3-4 time fairer skin tone than before just by applying the cream. Consequently, these advertisements change the perception of people, as they subconsciously think that darker skin tone is ugly. This way the company makes high profits on such products without catering to the real needs of the people. To conclude, I would like to reiterate the irrefutable notion that high sale of consumer goods reflect the power of advertisement and not the real need of the community. The use of star-power and unrealistic claims that yet to be proven contributes considerably to the sale of such goods and doesn't showcase the reality of society.