Many young people are leaving their homes in rural areas to study or work in the cities. Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages ?

Youth have recently been migrating from villages to metropol itan areas i n the search for better education and employment. This development has both advantages and disadva ntages, in that it has brought them better job opportun ities, but it has exposed them to unfam uniform i lia r hardships. Looking first at the positive aspects, it can be argued that cities offer more options for mea ningful employment as compared to the villages. Reputed nationa l or mu lti national compan ies allow people to be employed in well paid and secure jobs. This wou ld not be possible i n the rura l set- u p, where access to jobs is a major challenge. For instance, people who were limited to only seasonal work in rura l areas were able to find employment with compan ies such as Google when moving to urban areas such as Bangalore. Thus, m igrating to citi es opens doors for people that are otherwise unava ila ble in the villages. On the other hand, a move to the city offers its own share of setbacks. The younger people who were looked after by an elder are suddenly responsible for themselves.They now need to cook, clean, and pay their own electricity and phone bills. Though these tasks may not seem complicated, a lot of young people take a while to get used to perform ing them efficiently. So, when moving to the city, the youth may struggle and are likely to find it d ifficult in itially. In conclusion, the m igration of youth from remote areas to the u rban centers comes with both benefits and drawbacks. The youth have better employment options, but at the same time the i nitia l stage of settling into the u rban life can unsettle them as well.