Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One might think that enforcement of mandatory public service to the youths during their spare hours will benefit them and society. I highly disagree with this opinion, because teenagers have the right to choose which skill they require to progress in their free time. In addition to that, community development is the responsibility of the government. Freedom to properly select what exciting thing to perform on the youths precious time can further influence them to excel. This is because every person is unique and has various points of preference. It drives them to invest time and focus on achieving specific tasks. A more proper approach is to provide teenagers with a wide variety of employment to hone their current skills. For example, for teens with anti-social behaviour, it is unfair for them to be demanded to work in a community that requires social skills. Anti-social persons can be productive in solitary jobs like computer programming. Undeniably, teenager's development through forced labour in the community will never be productive for them. Since this is carried out so that youths don't have a choice, results are expected to be in low compliance. Only a low percentage of this age-group can tolerate uncompensated labour, and most of them spend their time in social gatherings, games, and even sports. In contrast, youths who work usually would expect to have salaries, as this will be the motivating factor for them to buy their needs and wants at this stage in life. As an example, nowadays, highschoolers are active with social media. They spent a considerable number of hours on these platforms, learning, communicating, and at times take advantage to earn extra money. That is why social work will be the last option for them. In conclusion, there is a wide selection of much better alternatives in honing the youth. Among those options, community decreed jobs are not of the best. Teenagers can be productive and beneficial to the community by achieving things they excel at and enjoy the most.