Governments spend a lot of money on public celebrations such as national holidays and public festivals. Some people say that the government spends too much on this and that they should use this money on other useful things. Do you agree or disagree?

Public celebrations and holidays, such as New Year or the Victory day need too much money for their organization. It is argued, whether this is useful and right or power should spend this money on other things. From my point of view, people are right. Thereby, I absolutely agree, that money must be spent on the more essential things. Firstly, it is very unjustified costs, because they do not bring any use to people. Of course, it may be funny and entertaining, but the costs are too large for it. For example, only the last fireworks in Minsk cost $100.000. I guess, this sum is enough to help 2 or 3 sick children with their medical treatment. That is why, government should rebuild it’s financial system and find out, that shows are not worth kids’ lives. Finally, medicine is not the only thing that need money. Education, transportation and so on need investing as well. For instance, this $100.000 would be a great capital for the new students’ books or innovational buses for the public. I believe it is much more useful and long lasting investment than random festival organization. As a result, the quality of life would rise and people will be happier. To sum up, public celebrations are not a good way to spend national money. In my humble opinion, medicine, education and other important things are the better way for this. I definitely think that government must stop organizing these expensive events, and should spend cash more carefully.