Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that elderly people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

Throughout history, it was common for families to live all together. However, with the change of traditions and lifestyles, many argue that elderly people should live their life independently, while others believe that grandparents should together with the rest of the family. I believe it should be spent equally, as there are benefits and disadvantages on both sides of the argument. This essay aims to discuss both arguments. First and foremost, many toddlers spend their early childhood surrounded by their grandparents. Therefore, they share an emotional bond with their grandparents. Researches have shown that intra-generational connections have a good impact on kids on their further social development and consequently, it strengthens the relationships with their future partners and children. Overall, this should be encouraged by many families, as it provides emotional stability and forms desirable social values. However, with the busier lifestyle, people tend to prefer spending their spare time alone. This applies also to elderly people, who tend to withdraw from the rest, to enjoy their life more independently. For instance, many get enrolled in art or dancing classes, something they were not able to get done before. However, as much as they enjoy living on their own, many reports have found that the majority of elderly people suffer from depression, loneliness. Overall, I tend to believe people should spend an equal amount with the rest of the family and with themselves. Nevertheless, the opposite trend is prevailing, as many people find their parents to be a burden for them