Fewer and fewer peoplewalk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time

Recently, a decreasing number of people have been inclined to have a walk-in everyday life. This essay aims to clarify the possible reason for this phenomenon as well as to suggest ways of addressing it. Firstly, amongst several reasons associated with a growing unwillingness to take a walk, the most significant of which is wasting time. Nowadays, people become busier and busier; hence they have to optimize the time allocated for moving. They prefer using escalators or elevators than stairs in buildings; or driving cars than walking to their workplace because they feel unnecessary to waste time travelling. Furthermore, longer and longer distance which we have to move every day has compounded the problem. In the past, people tend to accept jobs which are near to their whereabouts while working 20 kilometres and more away or in a different city is not an uncommon thing nowadays. For example, my colleague who lives in Binh Duong province must travel 100 kilometres every day by motorbike to work in Hochiminh city. In order to promote walking, there are some feasible solutions to be adopted. The most practical solution would be to encourage people using stairs instead of those technological applications which support travelling. Moreover, the company leaders should implement some incentives such as bonus or gifts in order to promote the benefits of walking. Another solution might be recommending that authorities should raise people ’s awareness about the importance of walking as well as build more infrastructures for the pedestrian. In conclusion, the above-mentioned facts illustrate why people dislike walking. However, I am convinced that these measures suggested above would encourage more and more people walking.