Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The current technology systems are increasingly being used to monitor the act of city-dwellers. In many cases, some people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. It is a tendency to believe that the advance technology has led to the high quality of security systems and bring various benefits to the citizen. However, I believed that the disadvantages from the monitoring cameras might outweigh the advantages in terms of the privacy. According to this essay, there are certain security systems that use the cameras to monitor people in some specific areas for the safety rules. For example, the CCTV in the airport or the heat cameras in the immigration segments that need to monitor the people behavior or the luggage which may contains harmful stuff. This is a worldwide rule and everybody accept this kind of monitor. Thus, the advance security systems need to be accepted by most of the citizen or it need to be globalized rules. From another point of view, there is the security system that tracking people in the city through their cellphone or email. For instance, China is well-known country that uses the security systems to track the citizen’s personal information via their cellphone or the identification number. In some stage of China using the cameras to record the people behaviors; thereby the employers can ask the government for the video as a primary evidence to make a decision before they accept the employees. This kind of monitoring is overwhelmed. The city-dwellers should have right to keep their own information, the privacy is the basic human right for everyone. In conclusion, there are pros and cons of the security systems that can secure and harm people at the same time. However, I think that the disadvantages of this development are outweighed the advantages. I believe that monitor the security though the people conversation and action are the systems that should not happens in the democracy society.