Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is thought by some that to encourage young people we must teach them how to be competitive with others, while others think that cooperation gives rise to a more helpful person. This essay believes that although competition leads to hard work, cooperation makes children more social. On the one hand, competitive young individuals are hard workers. This means they do not accept being in second place under any circumstances, so they spend more hours studying or practising in order to improve themselves and overcome their weaknesses. For example, in my country, many young athletes are constantly told by their trainers that they must be better than everyone else, and this is used to motivate them to work harder. However, I believe that this results in strong workers but not necessarily empathy toward others. On the other hand, when teaching young people how to cooperate with each other, this will make them more social. Children who learn to work smoothly with everyone and help them if they need it will grow up with the ability to be good citizens in the community. For example, in many developed countries, young students at primary schools are taught to be helpful and to be team players. I believe this is more beneficial for the individual and society. In conclusion, this essay believes that developing a sense of cooperation in youth is more beneficial for individuals and communities than fostering a sense of competition.