Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at school. To what extant do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

As the world has become more connected and international experiences are required in many university curricula, therefore lots of high schools tend to participate in international exchange programs. Some educationalists argue that student exchanges increase the pupil’s comprehensive and cognitive skills. This essay aims to provide arguments why do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages in terms of international exchanges. First and foremost, the world has become more connected and, therefore travelling to the remoted parts of the world seem to be easily accessible. As a result, the desire for international visits and experiences has increased, also among teenagers. Consequently, more teenagers are involved in those programs. Besides the extension of social circles and gained linguistic skills, the researchers have shown that those students who have participated in exchange visits tend to be more independent, adaptable, and assertive in terms of school work. However, environmental change and returning home after spending a year abroad can be challenging. Moreover, some students experience difficulty adapting to the former lifestyle. For instance, they feel depressed and lonely. Consequently, this affects their schoolwork the most, as their grades and project seem to be insufficient. Moreover, many face difficulty to re-establish social contacts with their peers. Overall, it is observable that the advantages are prevailing among the disadvantages. As surveys have shown, students who have participated in similar exchanges have upgraded their linguistic and social skills, but have increased their comprehensive and cognitive skills, which provides a significant advantage in further education. Therefore, more students will participate in upcoming exchanges