Art is considered an important part of the society as well as an expression of its culture. Do you think it is important for children to be taught art? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other subjects?

Art helps in identifying the tradition of a particular community or society. Hence, it is considered the essence of the culture it represents. In my opinion, since art aids in understanding cultural traditions, kids should be imparted its knowledge during their early stages of life. However, instead of revolving a student’s education only around arts, other subjects should be given equal importance. Firstly, parents or schools should educate their children about arts to increase their inclination towards opting for the subject as a career option. Although art is a vital part of society, choosing arts as a career is considered a demeaning option. It is mainly because of the misconception that students who opt for arts are less intelligent than those who choose science or business-related subjects. By imparting knowledge of arts, children might start exhibiting interest in the subject and understand that art is the backbone of any culture or society. Also, they might begin to believe that choosing art as a profession does not indicate that one is less clever. It might further aid in motivating more students to opt for art as a career. In addition, art helps in enhancing the creative skills of kid and enables them to express themselves. This nurturing of creative skillset in childhood can help an individual transform into a person with a dynamic mindset who can make decisions in impromptu situations. Furthermore, children who cannot express themselves using spoken or written words can convey their thoughts using art forms such as drawing, singing or, dancing. However, the focal point of the education of children should not revolve around only art. Instead, the child should be allowed to take an equal interest in other subjects as well. Even though a child might achieve the required creative skillset by studying art, his physical and mental growth depends on the study of topics such as physical education, science, mathematics, etc. Hence, it is essential to have an equal balance of all subjects in the curriculum of children. To sum up, since art plays a vital role in representing a traditional culture, schools and parents need to convey its importance to children by including the subject as a part of the curriculum. However, for the physical and mental development of a child, children should be given knowledge of other subjects as well.