Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there are a wide variety of approaches for teaching children in terms of performance at school and collaboration with other pupils. Generally speaking, well-organized parents spend a lot of different resources from money to their own time, developing various valuable skills for the success of their child in our competitive world. It is fair to say that the only ideal strategy for such a purpose does not exist. Moreover, it is crucial to find a balance in the learning process of children because the world is a really complex place. Below, I am going to share my opinion about the advantages and disadvantages of each mentioned views concerning competition and cooperation. Firstly, to my mind, it is a necessity to realize that there is a concept of competition from childhood. Young people should be able to state clear goals and achieve them. A lot of time I heard that the competition is a main trigger of progress whatever. It really makes a huge sense and push global economics to new peaks. Although it is significant to note that the high level of competition between people, companies or even countries should lay in a positive and respectful way. It is obvious enough that the willingness to compete at any cost could be harmful for person’s reputation, relationships and even his mental health. That idea brings me to an understanding of collaboration’s importance. Turning to the collaboration concept I would like to share my own experience. I have realized several times that if people are able to communicate effectively then they could achieve impressive results in such collective activities as work projects or sport games. For instance, when I was a student it was a pleasure for our university group to share skills and knowledge with each other. To be honest, that practice helped us a lot to finish our program, find a valuable job and win the competition with ineffective students who were not able to collaborate well. To sum up I would say that it is really important to follow the golden mean rule in terms of the learning process. That method could be useful for anyone to understand different issues of the human community and find out a suitable way for success in the long-term, especially in terms of competition and collaboration between people.