Television dominates the free-time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Television was one of the greatest invention of 20th century. However, there is a serious dicussion going on whether televisions are needed due to its bad influence in individual lives. In my opinion, I agree with the statement. Most of the people have televisions at their houses. It has become a part of their entertainment time. With the advancement in the technology and OTT platforms, televisions have become unavoidable from everyones life and made them stop going outside to theaters, since they could enjoy from their home itself which makes the less sociable and communicative with outsiders. Moreover, The size and the clarity has also changed which makes them watch it without any boredom. For instance, companies like Sony and samsung manufactures high definition screens with low prices and additional offers. This could be a reason why peoplehave become irresponsible and spend their time with no meaning. However, there are other reasons too. Additionally, with the arrival of new news channels, many elderly people spend so many hours watching the daily updates. As there are no other leisure activities for them, it makes them watch current affairs without any breaks. For example, at my house, my grand father watches around 5 to 6 hours daily infront of the television, which also is very dangerous to their eyesight as most of them loses their vision because of stressing their eyesight. Consequently, It harms both the health and our social charachter. In conclusion, it seems that watching televisioncan television affect both mentally and physically. Eventhough it has a lot of drawbacks, it helps us to gain knowledge on the current affairs. Therefore, I recommend spend the quality time with friends and relatives instead of using that time on TVs.