Some parents believe that cell phones are harmful to children, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Cellphones are one of the greatest inventions of the 21st century which helps people to get connected. Even though some parents think that cellphones have no detrimental effects on children, others believe the contrary to it. This essay would discuss both view points and state my opinion on it. Firstly, young individuals especially teenagers get addicted to smart phones and social media platforms faster than any other age groups which makes them lose interest in academics and other social activities. As a result, it often affects their career by the time they realise it. For instance, according to the reports, more than 75% of the world's population have facebook and instagram account. Secondly, it could affect their eyesight and continous watching the screen would lead to have red eyes and itching at a very early age. On the other hand, mobile phones could help children at the time of an emergency. Many teenagers, especially girls, had escaped from bad situations with the help of these type of technologies. For example, according to the 2006 report, there was a drastic decrease in the number of child abuse cases in India which shows that the latest technologies has helped the new generation in many good ways. Moreover, smart phones has helped not only children but also people in other age groups to get connected with people from different parts of the world through visually as well as through audio. To conclude, in my opinion, usage of cell phones could affect the young generation badly rather than in an affirmative way. Parents have a crucial role in the upbringing of the adolescents and should have the authority over the young individuals from keeping them away from the modern technologies upto a certain limit.