In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Traffic congestions are increasing at a rapid rate across the globe. To resolve the menace authorities should use the money to improve public transportation facilities by imposing taxes on private vehicle users. This essay will discuss various benefits and drawbacks of such a solution. One of the foremost benefits of such a measure is that cars would become expensive to drive. Due to this there would be a significant reduction in the levels of pollution and traffic congestion making it easier to drive around and live with longevity. Moreover, great demand would be created if public transit systems are enhanced. Most of the public prefer travelling using public transport systems. With surging population levels there is a dire need to improve these facilities and imposing taxes is considered an optimal solution. Nevertheless, there is a major drawback if this solution is deemed advantageous. This would be a great burden to the private car owners. With an increase in the number of taxes imposed everyday this would additionally add an extra pressure on the wage earners and will be left with small portion of amount at the end of the month for other expenses. Taxes of such type would be set to fixed amounts which means low income earners will be hit hardest whereas wealthy people could afford it. In conclusion, considering present scenario into consideration this would be a right solution to implement, however, there are considerable number of drawbacks associated with it.