News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

While some people are of the view that media content delivered through digital and print resonates better when pictures are displayed rather than the usage of words, others believe that words have a much stronger effect on the audience. In my opinion, I strongly believe that readers and viewers can gain better insights into a story when it is explained with context which is best presented with words. More often than not, people have a tendency to misconstruing information when it is shared in a pictorial format as the context is critical to understand the writers’ true intent. Images alone can be misleading to most and lead to confusion, thereby, losing the essence of the story. There is a higher probability of wrongful spreading of rumours, termed as “fake news” in today’s world, when words are not used to elaborate the background of a story. Another supporting point in the favor of verbalizing content through any medium is that the story-teller would have the liberty of sharing a balanced opinion on a subject matter without taking sides. As ardent consumers of online content, we have the right to read or view information that is primarily based on facts without any prejudice and this can be achieved through a written account about any topic. In conclusion, though some people feel that “pictures speak louder than words ” when stories are shared with the public, I strongly feel that images to depict a version could potentially have a negative impact on the audience as it would not be possible to explain intricate details through a picture and information will be taken out of context.