Some people think space research is a waste of money. The government should spend that money on the improvement of people’s living conditions. What is your opinion on this IELTS topic?

It is argued that the expenditures on the space investigations are irrelevant and it would be more efficient to allocate those financial means to social programs. Without eliminating the importance of such scientific researches, I assume that there exist some public fields which need more attention from the state rather than space. To the best of my knowledge, this issue noticeably depends on the rate of poverty of the country. On the one hand, the surveys related to space are definitely essential for the whole of mankind. Perhaps the existence of our globe, to some extent, depends on various accurate scientific calculations. For example, providing scientists didn’t examine the influence of the Sun on the Earth, then humans would not be aware of the disastrous consequences of global warming. Hence, they would keep on polluting the air with exhaust gases and fumes, thus fostering a negative impact on the environment. On the other hand, such researches presume huge expenditures, which are affordable only for the developed countries. On the contrary, the impoverished states are not likely to spend the money on constructing rockets or conducting expensive observatories, as long as they face more serious economic and social problems. Therefore, the governments of the developing countries should allocate money to enhance the life quality of their citizens. Once these needs are satisfied, it may be relevant to think about space investigation. The most salient example of such an approach is the government of Armenia, which afforded tremendous financial means for creating a space research centre in Yerevan during 2018, consequently, contributing to a total protest among the poor people who composed almost 20% of the population. In conclusion, spending money on space researches may be beneficial in wealthy countries, whereas the destitute states probably should afford more financial means for improving the life quality of the population.