Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

In the system of law particularly, British and Australia, a jury in a criminal case has no exposure to the data of defendants past criminal records. This is an unnecessary advantage to the individual, who is an alleged criminal. However, a few numbers of lawyers advised that this practice should be transformed and a tribunal should be made aware of all past facts before they proceed to the judgement. In this, essay I would like to give my opinion in support of the fact that all necessary clue should be clearly provided to the jury for a better outcome. Firstly, the person who conducted a crime has a criminal history mostly. Tracking their past records can give an incredibly important thread for current criminal investigation. For example, an article in a newspaper, I came across recently reckoned that, a man who was teasing a young woman was actually a serial killer who in his past, targeted young working ladies, as he had jealousy towards them because a woman cheated on him in his life. This valuable knowledge made him arrested quickly and further damage to society has been successfully prevented. If the judge didn't know about it, the criminal wouldn't be punished harshly for his dids hence it must be compulsory. Secondly, The judiciary system has a variety of punishments, that differs from crime to crime. When it comes to a single crime it is far lesser that many. In this case, if the judge is unaware of the previous criminal records, he might just give a simple form of punishment for the present crime and a huge iceberg may remain unseen. If this happens, many guilty people can wander around confidently and do continue with their crimes as they remained unacknowledged. For instance, a small thief becomes a bank robber as he has been discharged on parol n number of times due to his current less impactful crime. Thus it should be mandatory for the jury to go through each and every past information of the guilty person. Lastly, to conclude, I vividly agree and strongly support the fact that the juditiary judicial system should be supported with crystal clear information before final judgement, it will be immensely beneficial for humanity.