Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away ?

The alarming wastage created from food that people buy in the grocery stores and general eateries is a concerning issue. The main reasons for that are the lack of awareness and the drop in prices from all produce. Some of the viable solutions to tackle such a problem are to promote educational campaigns and regulate taxes accordingly. Most of the consumers' tendency of buying excessive amounts of food, inappropriately storing and disposing of great amounts of finally unwanted product that has already been bought are some of the factors contributing to the rampant increase in tons of perishable consumables that end up in the landfills affecting on the increase on Green House Gases that finally affect the environment. The foremost reason for that is society’s lack of awareness in consumption, planning, smart storage of perishables, and the environmental impact; along with that, the reduction in prices from all farm products due to globalization and the development of technologies that allow farmers to make their crops grow faster. As the focal interest to globally mitigate any sources of contamination and environmentally protect our planet is higher, it is required to efficiently tackle this issue of food wastage; therefore, it is necessary for governments to diligently work on promoting educational campaigns, such as tv advertisements, and courses, and work on social network delivering a message of awareness. Besides, it is needed that annual assessment on taxation for landfill waste generated from households. Finland was recognized in 2016 by the United Nations for its proactive attitude in implementing both measures as the country saw a staggering decrease of 22% in landfill wastage in a year. To conclude, considering that people’s lack of conscious consumption and the drop in general prices in the food-market are the main aspects that greatly impact the production of biodegradable garbage, it is necessary to educate people and do control on taxation of disposable consumables from residents.