It is importante for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

The modern world is organized by rules and laws, allegedly based on justice and punishments for those that break them. While some people disagree that these notions should be taught at school, others believe that it is a relevant part of students’ education, and I tend to agree with them. Firstly, it is pivotal for a child to build a healthy relationship with others with the idea of consequences. As they experiment with their social lives at school, critical situations and conflicting decisions start to appear and they must choose how they are going to behave and act. All choices are available, but they ought to learn which are the clever ones, and the reactions are the way for those decisions. For example, skipping classes and tests is probably going to affect their final scores and prevent them to succeed to the next level. Those scores should be a clear sign of their demeanour. Secondly, being punished for detrimental decisions can be related to adult life and how laws and rules work over society. During the first years at school, the limits imposed for small children are usually simple and help a teacher to control his class and the group to organize themselves. For instance, a rule set for time to eat or play eases the group to trust that there is someone attentive to their needs. If one of them stimulates a rebellion and the teacher loses control over them, it is most likely that their needs will be at least delayed, affecting even those that did not agree with the movement. On the other hand, although the sense of consequences can be pedagogical, it can never be physical. Aggression or humiliation do not offer ways through learning but decreases the trust in the group, adults and authorities, not to mention, creates fear and egregious effects on adulthood. To sum up, punishments are important for learning processes and are quite relatable to reality, therefore, it is part of offspring’s needs to fully develop. Nevertheless, those consequences must not offer any sort of physical or psychological danger, as it is counterproductive and highly traumatizing.