Universities and colleges are now offering qualifactions through distance learning from the internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Online learning is currently the major method of teaching class for universities and colleges. While there are certainly restrictions regarding the virtual studying environment, I do believe that online learning is the most effective way to maintain the balance where students could not only keep learning but overcome the pandemic at the same time. The most valuable strength of studying at home is to reduce the spread of COVID-19. As the disease has been intrusively taken away a tons of people's lives, it is our duty to practice social distance and make efforts to bring the society back to normal. Besides the social responsibility, online courses provide the flexibility that allows faculties and students to arrange their time schedule accordingly. Meanwhile, no matter how the class format changes, the primary function of education is to acquire knowledges. Learning from the internet also empower learners to access to a wide range of qualified subjects. However, the virtual format indeed have shortages. For instance, one of the most effective learning methods is to learn from peers by completing group projects. Because of the difficulties of meeting each other in person, communication is becoming the key challenge for teammates to brainstorm together. Another disadvantage is the lack participation of physical space. Fields, such as engineering and design, always require students to perform experiments and gather information from target audiences. The lack of mobility during quarantine prevents students from engaging their research studies. In conclusion, although online learning causes less connection with classmates, students are still able be study the same material through the internet. Most importantly, learning form home enable us to avoid the further increasement of infected cases of COVID.