Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others,however, believe there are better alternative ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Increasing crime is a global issue and every country is finding ways to fight it. There are those who believe that longer prison sentences can help the Government to reduce criminal activities in the country while others find that the state can choose better alternatives to control crime. This essay will discuss both arguments before forming an opinion. To begin with, the majority of people believe that giving longer prison sentences can help to reduce crime in society. When offenders are given longer prison it will create fear. A Person will not execute criminal activity if he/she is already aware of the punishment.For,example lifetime prison sentence for rape and murder can frighten the public and help to control criminal activities. However, others opine that there are numerous alternatives that the government can Adopt to reduce crime rate. The main causes of increasing offences are illiteracy and Unemployment. The government should make plans to provide free education and generate more employment opportunities. To Exemplify, in Sweden education is free and the government is continuously working to increase employment. This is the reason, why Sweden tops the list of the peaceful country where the crime rate is the lowest.when the pupils are busy in education and work they will remain away from crime. To summarise, there is clear ground both for and against long imprisonment. In my opinion, Crime should be removed from society, not criminals. The government should literate individuals and engage them in different employments to keep them away from crime. So that society can become a safer place to live.