In multicultural societies, people of different cultural backgrounds live and work together. Do you think the advantages of multicultural societies outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to the effects of globalisation people have started to immigrate more often. It has been adversely affecting national homogeneity in all countries and bringing new challenges for governments and people in general. On the one hand the benefit of multiethnic societies is that they complement each other bringing national diversity to the country. If you live in a multinational country, you learn to be more tolerant to other cultures. It leads to building more open-mind societies which are based on respect and preserving different cultural identities. In other words it gives a possibility to create a safe place to live for many people where they can develop their talents enriching society in a multicultural way. But on the other hand sometimes people can not assimilate in multicultural societies. There are many reasons for it. For example, if people do not know the local language, it is more difficult for them to become a part of the community and expand their view about the world. It might give rise to prejudice because we as human beings treat everything unknown with care and it splits the society according to language. And we took only the language aspect so far, but there are many other differences like nation, religion and colour of skin. All those features could be a reason for discrimination and separation. As we know from history, disunited countries have higher levels of internal aggression and are weaker in comparison to the united ones. In conclusion, I want to admit that I am in two minds regarding this question because I truly believe that it is a challenge for a society to find a way where they can guarantee their citizens more benefits than disadvantages through multicultural experience.