These days, due to advances in technology, it is cheaper and easier to travel abroad. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Emerging technologies have affected the way people travel today, because innovative means of transportation (as high-speed planes) make the travelling process more convenient and modern (on-line) ticket services offer more reasonable prices. However, I believe that distraction from real life caused by tech devices may be considered as an insignificant drawback. The main advantage of improved technology for the field of tourism is the convenience that it provides for the passengers with the help of such transportation as updated high-speed planes. This is because modern aircrafts can handle longer distances at shorter time limits, contributing to customers` time-saving and freedom to choose any destination. As a result, intercontinental trips have become more popular among tourists which is a beneficial trend for both tourists and the hospitality industry. Another important merit of technological advances is the new on-line ticket sales services which provide affordable prices for travelers for hotels and air tickets bookings. This is to say that not only have people greater choices when booking on-line, because they may address not only to travel agents that usually add own margin to the initial price, but also people can book directly at air companies` and hotels` websites not depending on their location. For example, being provided with supposed dates of flight, some sites are able to compare prices and combine the cheapest flight options to get a cheaper deal. However, taking into account that people become addicted to using modern devises when travelling, for instance, smartphones, people might be distracted from enjoying wonderful sights. In other words, visitors tend to strive to get more photographs from the destinations to share with others rather than exploring new cultures and traditions. Nevertheless, this trend is not overwhelming negative because pictures can distribute the information about places to others thus promoting the country itself to potential tourists. To conclude, I believe that due to the developments in technology travelers gained many advantages as decreased costs for tickets and hotels and comfortable flights. Nevertheless, cutting edge devices such as mobile phones may prevent them from primary purpose of experiencing new adventures during trips since people want to collect as many as possible photos and videos.