Human activities have negative effects on plants and animal species. Some people think that it is too late to do anything about this problem. Other people believe that effective measures can be taken to improve this situation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Environmental conservation has become a trending topic in recent years. Pessimists claim that there is nothing that can be done to save the Earth, while others argue that human beings still have a chance to modify the situation. In my view, I agree with the latter and I will provide an explanation with examples. First of all, it is undeniable that human activities have brought a number of serious problems to the Earth due to the increase in human demands based on populations. For instance, the average temperature has increased one Celsius since the 1800s, which mainly caused by deforestation, farming and burning fossil fuels. This leads to a threat to many Arctic species such as polar bears in particular as their habitat is melting and disappearing. On the other hand, others including me believe there is still hope because the awareness of environmental protection and sustainable development has raised in recent decades. To be more precise, many countries have started to tackle the negative effects brought by human beings, like reducing overexploitation of natural resources. Instead, professionals are researching and finding other renewable and Eco-friendly resources to limit the demands on fuels. Besides, afforestation is encouraged to offset the damage by deforestation. China is one of the best examples, which the overall forest coverage rate has risen from twelve per cent in the early 1980s to twenty-three per cent currently. As a result, the air quality in China has improved dramatically compared with thirty years ago. In conclusion, even if human activities have caused grave consequences and even some permanent damage to our plants and wildlife, it is not completely irretrievable as long as human beings can learn from previous mistakes and insist on sustainable development.