For a long time art has been considered an essential part of all cultures in the world. However, nowadays people’s values have changed, and we tend to consider science, technology and business more important than arts. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to draw people’s attention to art?

The significance of art has decreased when compared to primitive times and it is evident that the value for corporate, science and technology has increased drastically over the period. This essay will discuss the factors that lead to this phenomenon and explore effective solutions. There are a number of reasons why individuals pay more attention to technological advancement and business. Firstly, the lifestyle in this contemporary society is highly stressful, where one does not have enough leisure time to spend in arts such as music, dance, ancient sculpture. Secondly, the hectic work schedule makes everyone rush towards achieving their deadlines adding to it, in order to not be obsolete mostly they are engaged in upgrading their skills and learning new technologies. Lastly, as many lives as a nuclear family, there are no elders to educate on cultural and traditional aspects which were followed for generations. To illustrate, a couple of decades ago classical dance was widely popular in India, but, now hip hop and western dance have taken over; because people believe it is superior. I strongly suggest a few effective solutions which could contribute to attaining people’s attention towards traditional habits and art. It is essential to create awareness of the importance of one’s heritage, as it could be an eye-opening moment for every individual to look back at where they belong to. Also, the government should encourage people who are knowledgeable about customs and rituals and provide some privileges accordingly. For instance, in Burma, a citizen who knows Yein traditional Burmese dance will be offered a job opportunity in their field expertise by the government. To conclude, in this modern society the work, technology and scientific development are highly demanding which leads to overlooking tradition and cultural behaviour. However, I am convinced that some steps can be taken to alleviate this disturbing circumstance