Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different culture and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is claimed that music is a global language and its advancement throughout last few decades has made it surpass the original territorial boundaries. A common opinion is that it is one of the best ways to unite people worldwide irrespective of their age and cultural beliefs. I do agree with this statement to a great extent. There are several reasons to support this view. First, wide availability of international music, which is considered a combination of several music traditions, makes the world seem more uniform than ever. Such music, which does not belong to any specific culture, can entertain everyone as the composition is quite different to what people have experienced already. Meanwhile, this phenomenon will stop us overrating our own music genres as the worlds’ best; rather, it will certainly strengthen our perception of belonging to a global community. Secondly, the peoples’ minds can be motivated to explore, value and respect other different cultures and societies by listening to different kinds of music. For instance, anyone who is highly interested in North Indian Hindusthani music, will be inspired to discover how it is bound with the everyday life of Indians. Furthermore, most of the people claim that music usually evokes past memories, which help them enter their childhood or youth in minds that will ease the interactions between various age groups. To the contrary, there are drawbacks in this concept as well. It is a fact that the traditional music of a particular country is strongly bound with its ideology and cultural beliefs, as an inevitable part of its heritage, which should be preserved. The over presence and overrate of varying genres of music can lead to underestimation and negligence of traditional music; consequently, traditional values. I am certain that within the next century the whole world will have become a global village and lack of self-identity and uniqueness will hardly benefit any nation, in that context. To sum up, Music has been changing and improving since the origin of humankind and this pleasurable experience is a great way to harmonize the people regardless of age and cultural backgrounds, if it is used in the appropriate manner.