Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a postive or negative trend?

The majority of food that are available in some industralised industrialized nations are imported from different countries. This trend has a negative impact on the agriculture sector of imported countries. It is believed that providing a superior range of food to citizens by importing from other nations is highly important because it means that it enables the government to focus its effort on the production and manufacturing in other sectors. This is because the concentration on producing the products that has more demand in other parts of the world would generate immense profits to the income of the country by meeting the international demand. As a result, it would effectively fuel the economy cycle because exporting goods, particulary electronic and oil would lead to more profits than exporting food products. On the other hand, I would go against this view because relying on other countries ' food production would affect negatively the performance of agriculture. This trend would cause a collective migration from this sector to others because the government has been neglecting the importance of supporting and encouraging the farmers in producing local food, such as fruit, vegetable, and livestock. One of the devestating impacts of this movement is that if other countries stopped exporting their own food to their neighbours, this would create a steep food shortage in the imported countries. To sum up, Although importing food products from other countries would help country to concetrate on other important industries, I would disagree this statement because this trend might have a dreadful impact on the growth of farming sector, and therefore, it would prevent people from getting access to food if other parts of world refuse to export their own harvest.