Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment.

Every nation has a way of dealing with crime. It is believed by many that, having a fixed method of chastisement for all crimes is logical. Nevertheless, this treatment possesses benefits as well as some drawbacks. A fixed sentence for criminal without consideration offers positive points of a country's judicial process. Firstly, passing a judgment on a criminal is easier and less time consuming. For example, when a criminal appears in court, the case against he or she would be read out and immediately,the criminal would be given a judgment based on the fixed rule in place. Furthermore, this process saves the time and finances on both sides for the offender and the government. Another benefit is that this principle of detention could deter criminals. Therefore, people will consider the consequences of their actions before commiting crimes because they know the consequences of the written law. Thus, fixed punishment as a legal system delivers merits in ruling criminals. On the other hand, there are some downsides to this commandment. Firstly, it would be unfair to penalise petty criminals and hardened offenders with the same judgement because the motives behind their crimes and the moral scales of measurement is very peculiar. For example, sentencing a petty thief that stole a bag of potatoes and a murderer the same punishment seems illogical. Thus, this method can influence people to commit abominable acts because they would already be aware of the penalty. In conclusion, it is clear that even though fixed sentence has positive ramifications, its applications in the courtroom may draw unfairness. A serious awareness should be taken by both lawmakers and society to deal with the negative impacts that may be drawn from this authority.