These days many of us prefer to throw damaged things away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and keep them for a long time. Explain why you think this change has happened? What are the effects of this change in attitude?

In the modern,world individuals tend to discard their belongings easily as compared to a decade ago where people reused things like electronic gadgets. This progressive shift in shopping to replace old ones in my belief is a result of convenient payment options and exposure to marketing. However, this mindset has adverse outcomes such as pollution and wastage. I will be explaining why I suppose this buying pattern has changed and how it has currently affected society. Firstly, the expansion of technology and social media has provided a marketing platform for products that are available and have given access to all over the world within a click away. Advertisements in social media platforms urge users to buy thins, for instance, every year Apple would introduce an upgraded version of a Mobile device, and on this occasion, it does not necessarily mean that the previous is broken whereas back in the day people used their devices longer. In addition, there is increased accessibility to expensive products that could be bought via convenient payment methods. A good illustration of this is After pay which has allowed users to make payments on an instalment basis. As the generations before the current did not have such technology, things were valued more and bought less. Secondly, as a result of this transformation in buying patterns and the frequent disposal of things, there are significant effects that need attention. Firstly, Increased wastage and ecologically unfriendly habits result in pollution. For example, buying a new TV means apart from discarding the old there will also be packaging that needs to be thrown. As compared to half a century ago, people are blinded by innovation where they care less about the environment and current practices have consequently contributed to increased landfill sites. Secondly, the money they spend on upgrades could be used elsewhere. For example, a survey in the UK has proven that the main cause of financial stress is the portion of income that needs to be separated for instalments of products online. To end, society has adhered to a throw-away habit because technology has provided them better accessibility to stuff around the world which has shifted the demand for goods. However, the adverse effects need to be controlled to manage waste. By taking this situation into account, if wastage is not controlled humans will have to face consequences of pollution for an extended period.