Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since time immemorial, in certain drier parts of the world, freshwaterwater fresh water water has always been a scarce natural resource. However, in the present time, due to various reasons, scarcity of freshwaterwater has become a global issue. This essay will illustrate some factors contributing to this problem and will also elicit certain steps that can help the national authorities and individuals in controlling this growing demand for natural salt-free water. Firstly, the population explosion is the factor of utmost importance, which has lead to the global surge in potable water requirement. Secondly, increased pollution of natural freshwaterwater reserves due to urbanisation and industrialization has compounded this demand. Furthermore, in modern times, the growing use of salt-free water for activities like recreational swimming, has also catalysed the surge in global water demand. National authorities, on the other hand, can control this surge by implementing public education schemes regarding controlled water usage. Strict national legislation for preventing natural freshwaterwater reserve pollution are also required. Moreover, the government should also enact infrastructures for the purification of seawater into saline free water, which will help in meeting the growing requirement of freshwaterwater. Similarly, the public can also contribute towards this noble cause by conserving water and also by limiting their daily household water usage. They should refrain from performing activities that will pollute natural freshwaterwater reserves. Thus even though, the scarcity of freshwaterwater fresh water water is a growing global problem, there are various means and methods available, by which both the government and individuals can prevent this from worsening.