With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good forward step while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The rising popularity of e- books outshines paper books. Some believe that it is a step towards progress, whereas others totally disagree with this belief. Although electronic books are convenient in terms of transportability, they depend on the devices on which they are used. One of the pros of e- books is that they do not take too much space. Also, at present, more than hundreds of books can be easily uploaded on mobile devices such as smartphones, tablets, etcetera. This makes them accessible at any moment which can significantly increase our usage of time in a more efficient and productive way. Besides that, there are many audiobooks, which only require listening. They are especially handy for busy people or the ones who spend most of their time on the roads. For example, some of the famous businessmen and innovators, such as Ilon Mask, recommend listening to audiobooks or podcasts. On the other hand, shifting from paper-based materials to electronic ones makes books dependable on devices. It means that without a sufficient amount of energy or proper conditions, readers will not be able to consume information as their devices cannot be booted. For example, one will not be able to read an e-book for a long time in a park if the temperature outside is relatively low. In such conditions, the amount of energy in batteries is spent quite rapidly, reducing the amount of time for reading. In conclusion, despite the convenience and accessibility, e- books are bonded to the batteries of devices. It is recommended that scientists found better sources of energy for mobile devices as the current ones are not reliable.