More and more people use private cars instead of taking public transport . What are the reasons for this thread? How can the government encourage people to take public transport?

There are numerous pressing issues the world is facing these days. Overconsumption of private vehicles instead of opting for public transport is amongst one of them. Owing to the reasons such as comfortable atmosphere and convenient method, people are more persuaded towards having their own transport rather than using busses and taxis; however, several viable measures can be taken by law enforcement agencies to mitigate this problem which will be discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. To commence with, the most conspicuous reason as to why a section of society is captivated towards their own vehicles is that it is not only an easy option to travel but also folks do not find it difficult to purchase the one as in the contemporary era, these are provided to the customers with various discounts as well as on the accessible monthly payment. For an instance, the activa costs 70,000 INR, an individual can get it by paying the minimum amount of 5000 INR, which is way cheaper than spending on public transport for a lifetime. Another considerable factor is that the bus service allocated by the government has fewer facilities with poor maintenance for which the community cannot depend upon travel to their workplaces. Several steps can be taken to resolve this issue. The prominent is that high authorities should make stringent rules by restricting one or two vehicles in a single home depending upon the members of the family. Moreover, the transport system officials should conduct an awareness campaign to encourage more and more public to use the oldest means of transport and in turn, to ensure the rising of this method, there should be proper checks on the maintenance of vehicles so that people could take the advantage of using the same. According to a recent survey in Japan 2019, the majority of people avail public transport to travel than using their own vehicles due to increased tax on them. To conclude, although people find relaxed in buying private vehicles and travelling on their own, there are various methods to captivate them towards public transport such as by renovating the old busses to make them comfortable and by limiting the purchase of vehicles.