Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about economic success. Some even debate on the pros and cons of long working hours. I. strongly disagree with the idea that extending working hours will accelerate the nation`s economy. Firstly, the achievements of the economy are based on multiple factors such as recourses, technology development, industrial foundations, etc. For instance, countries like Bangladesh is one of the longest working hours per capital in the world yet still struggled with poverty Germany, on the other hand, it`s the outstanding performance of machinery created a postindustrial environment thereby lower the working hour per capital. Germany is one of the strongest countries with exceeded GPD figures in the world. Furthermore, the working hours at present are way less compared with the same 150 years ago. Our society is surly wealthier than 150 years ago. Secondly, longer working hours reflects to lower the value of labour force. This means that individual needs to work longer hence to earn the same amount of income. It might lead to an unbalanced lifestyle, depression, stresses related disease or other unexpected chain reactions. For example, many are arguing about the low birth rate in many countries. If women need to devote themselves to their career in order to maintain the same income level as before. Then there will be no time left on for having a baby or taking care of families. This is a vicious circle that society might face a labour shortage in the future. In sum. Long working hours might not precede an economy boost which will increase the burden on the whole society in contrast. Instead of expressing ideas like delay retirement or extended working hours, it`s better for the government to take any action to strengthen countries industrial foundation. By doing so we can make sure that our society remains healthy and developed.